I cross the crazy line

I ride my bicycle from Mountain View to Midpen corporate headquarters in Foster City.

crazy

I was feeling crazy after getting nowhere with Andy, Fountains Maintenance Manager, but mostly in disbelief about my loss of freedom and liberty. I was and still live in a George Orwell novel repleat with employees acting like Graham Greene bumbling spies. I waited in the office lobby for one or two hours waiting to talk to someone.
  • I observed a trance like slowness of the people as they came up and down the stairs and as they left the inner office to go across the lobby to the bathrooms it was almost as if they were so bored they decided to go to the bathroom for something to do even though they had no need.
nothing
Finally I meet for a few seconds with Regional Manager Evelyn CatalanShe begins lecturing me on how there is a process at Midpen and I can’t just circumvent that process.
  • Elon Musk in a Wired interview” The problem is that at a lot of companies, process becomes a substitute for thinking. You’re encouraged to behave like a little gear in a complex machine. Frankly, it allows you to keep people who aren’t that smart, who aren’t that creative.”

Those of you smarter than me know how this will turn out.

Leave a Reply

